Fun With Instagram

So Meghan and I finally bit the bullet and started living life in the ’10s (Or the teens or whatever we’re gonna call this decade…), and bought smartphones. Woot! I got a Samsung Galaxy SIII, which is every bit as functionally badass as an iPhone but isn’t used by everyone and their mother.

So, Instagram…I don’t know what I used to think of it: Pretty hipstery, kinda lame, but there were a ton of actual decent photographers who used, some of whom I knew personally and could verify that they weren’t douches. And now I use it too. I still think the “Everyone who takes one decent photo thinks they’re an honest-to-God photographer” thing wears a bit thin, but damned if I don’t really like Instagram.

Got this one out at the State Park that literally surrounds the land we live on. With a freakin’ phone. Booyah. (Ok, so Ma Nature really did most of the work here, but I was glad to be there).

It’s been nice to have with me on shoots to kind of document what I’m document or get something out there before I get “The Paper” shots in

Like at parades. A lot of parades recently. This one was in Oakdale and there were tiny horses.

I guess the thing is, I don’t always have my camera on me. Sometimes, it’s due to forgetfulness or being in the wrong place at the wrong time, other times it’s a conscious decision because I’ve already worked enough. But my phone is with me.

Like Rummage Sale-ing on a Saturday…

Or taking the dogs out to poop in the morning…

Or just checking out the different towns around our new home…

And let’s not forget the already way-too-common pet photos…

I didn’t even have to get my butt up off the couch for this one.

So I like it. I’m gonna keep using it too, until it gets old or the next cool thing pops up. I’d put it on here, but WordPress-hosted blogs don’t have an Instagram plugin or sidebar…yet. Anyways, come and follow me on there if you’re into that sort of thing. The name’s Hagglesworth.

1 thought on “Fun With Instagram

Leave a comment