Kaboom 2: a retrospective

As I mentioned in my earlier fireworks post, I’ve taken a lot of good photos of fireworks and I’ve had a lot of good times.I might not have a lot of readers, but those who have been checking this out voiced a lot of praise for my fireworks pics, so here’s some more.

These are some of my absolute favorites. These may not all be my photos. Some of these, I was to busy lighting the fuses to take the pictures. Hehehe,

Flora's fireworks from July 4, 2006. My first fourth downstate.

A nice shot taken in a park in Chicago on the Northwest side. I love the guy in the foreground. As a visual element anyways.

One of my favorites that I've run in the newspaper. At Orchardville Church, south of Xenia, a few weeks prior to the 4th in 2010.

This was shot by my buddy Derek during one of Mark Lambird and my "Weekend After the 4th" fireworks show. This was our biggest show.

This was shot by my buddy Derek Anderson during one of Mark Lambird and my "Weekend After the 4th" fireworks show. This was our biggest show.

As I said, Derek came to see the biggest show Mark and I put on. The shots Derek got were more about the excitement of lighting the things though. He is a man that knows that excitement well. Here’s another example from the same night. For more of Derek’s work, check his blog here.

That's Mark running for dear life from a mortar he just lit. We had a 75 mm shell go off just above ground level – No injuries though...this time.

One of the coolest fireworks shots I’ve seen was by Mark himself. It was while I was in Chicago shooting the pic four above this and the one after this one. I swear this isn’t Photoshopped. Or rather, he swears this isn’t ‘shopped and I believe him.

Photo by Mark Lambird. Just a perspective thing: lightning in the distance, fireworks close up. Cool, huh?

Here’s the other one I shot in Chicago on that 4th. One of my favorites, overall.

That's how neighborhood fireworks work in Chicago. Everybody comes out to the park and blows up all the stuff they went to Inddiana or Wisconsin to buy. It was a real good time.

Here’s a favorite (Aren’t they all). It’s not regular fireworks, but an example of what happens when you tie 600 sparklers together and light them. Kids, don’t try this at home. Adults should probably be wary too…

Photo by Jens Deju. I'm just out of frame at the left with my jaw on the ground. That column of flame was around ten feet high.

Here's a photo illustration we did on firework safety. Real fuse, but we pulled the cracker out of it's housing. Burns are digital though.

Here's an old favorite of the fireworks show Mark and I did at his parents' house, I believe in 2006. The spectators may have been a bit close, we moved across the lake in subsequent years.

A good solid picture to end on. July 4, 2010, in Flora. Mix of long exposure with flash on the spectators in their chairs.

Thanks for reading. Now go blow something up! (Safely)

Leave a Reply

