Out for some evening driving

I was supposed to meet my photo class/club at the office last night to talk about some computer related and blogging type stuff. But it was about 74 out, sunny and there was a breeze. So we went for a drive instead. I had some fun. Unfortunately, an upset/empty stomach brought me back home earlier than I would have liked, but the pictures are nice.

Gladiator. We found a wheat field and I asked "Who wants to help me do a 'Gladiator' Shot?" Only Aubrey, who is a movie buff and used to work at Movie Gallery knew what I was talking about.

Aubrey, who runs Creative Creations Photography, is one of the students and the one who is most into this club and photography in general. Oh, and she also shot Meghan and my wedding, which was cool. Anyways, she was our navigator, driver and director for the night. She was also disappointed when I said it was time to head back to Flora.

Rustic.

For that one, I was just trying to get a picture of a cow (An uncooperative little cow), when Meghan said to get a picture of the barb wire fence and the trees. Not the first one I pointed the camera at either. This one. So this is is sort-of her shot. But only sort-of.

I love turning specular highlights into starbursts. Flash on the foreground.

This one I was trying to strobe light the vegetation in front and let the sun shine through in back, but it took too long to get everything ready, so I ended up not getting the sun as bright as I wanted. Still nice though.

A locust. Ok, a cicada. Apparently, there's a difference. I'm no entymologist. Or is it Etymologist. One is names, one is bugs and I'm afrain I forget which is which.

Got the locust shot right next to the sun shot. Used the same strobe to light it.

A really cool old cemetery.

The highlight of the trip, which Aubrey said was just getting started when Meghan and I bugged out for dinner, was Bunker Cemetery. It was awesome. Due in no small part to the light being real good when we got there.

See?

If you don’t like flare-y glare-y type shots like this, just navigate away now.

Some nice light again.

Aged 22 days.

I like the grave and the plant together.

I’d probably re-shoot that last one, because the focus is not on, but I still liked it too much to leave it out.

Just really like the feel of this one. Plus, flare-/glare-y.

Told you there'd be more flare and glare.

Pretty cool gate at the back entrance of the cemetery.

Add in the off-camera strobe, thank you pocket wizard.

Another Meghan suggestion, right next to the gate. Strobe on the fence post.

So yeah. A lot of flare and glare. Still had fun. Thanks for looking!

One thought on “Out for some evening driving

Leave a Reply

