Weekend Pics (First of Many?)

When I get back to work at the newspaper after a long weekend, I’ll typically make a new folder for my non-work pictures called “Weekend Pics,” or some variation on that theme. I had a few that I liked or had fun with this time, so I thought, “I’ll post some of these,” at least to show off / see if the subscription tab is working. Anyways, let me know what you think, that is, if anyone is reading this.

Meghan and I took a Friday evening road trip to Effingham, which kind of sucks, because when Effingham is the interesting place you go to on weekends, you must live somewhere kind of boring. Before going, Meghan wanted me to dress kind of nice and for some reason, she had a problem with what I decided to wear…

Yes, I am this cool. She made me lose the hat, the Hawaiian shirt and the socks/sandals combo.

After changing what I had on, we departed and got some nice pics on the way out of town, including some lovely reflections…

Off of a screen door's window on our house.

And in Meghan's Car windows.

This one was shot on the way out of town. I know it’s just a gas station, but I really like how everything comes together. This would be a candidate for setting up a tripod and doing an HDR shot. But we just stopped the car and shot the photo out the window.

Nice sky, huh.

In Effingham, we got some dinner at Friday’s which has WAY better service than the one in Oak Park. Then we enjoyed a little cosmic bowling at K-Bowl in Effingham. As I have described to my snickering coworkers, I enjoy bowling way more than my sub-100 scores would have you believe. On the way back to Flora, we stopped at Effingham’s big cross and got these two shots. ISO 200, just used a timer and let the camera rest on the trunk. I had a tripod with me, but meh.

Meghan said that it's holy, but I don't see any holes in it at all...

I’m sorry about that joke. Not sorry enough to stop making them though.

This is a Hardee's billboard. While it has less religious significance than the cross, they do make a decent burger.

And it was back to Flora for us for a nice night’s rest. Just kidding, the dogs wouldn’t shut up. Perils of pet ownership, eh.

5 thoughts on “Weekend Pics (First of Many?)

  1. I love these shots! Inspires me to take my camera on random trips out of town(date nights)!
    Thanks for sharing! oh…and you should have took and after shot, so we could see how you looked with no socks with your sandals on! lol…too funny! Reminds me of how my husband wears his that way too sometimes! However, I think I may have broke him of it by now…he-he …jk you!

    • Oh dawn, I always see the best things when I’m not actively trying to shoot. Evening light is just awesome and it’s too nice out not to.

  2. Alex, love the shot of the Marathon station! It makes me feel like I am standing there, and I can smell the midwest air!!

Leave a Reply

