Watch out lunatics

I really like joke captions but I can’t think of one for this….something about werewolves maybe?

Got stuck at the office very late last night. I finished up at just before midnight. As I headed out to the car, I saw a low, large and VERY red moon.

I had a camera at the office with me, but I did not have a tripod with me. I knew if I went to go home to get my tripod, I wouldn’t have as good of a vantage point, and honestly, I knew I wouldn’t want to go back to a better place to shoot if I was home. I was tired.Also, If I waited much, I figured it wouldn’t be as colorful. Sure enough, 20 minutes later, it was 30-degrees higher in the sky and normal white color.

So I put my work camera’s 70-300 zoom, which is a bit longer but two stops darker than my Nikon telephoto. I know that you can get a good exposure on a bright moon using sunny 16, maybe opening up a stop or so from there, but it’s lit by full sun, so it’s deceptively bright.

This was a lot darker than that, and for this amount of detail, it was an exposure of 1/15 of a second at f 8 at ISO 800. I could have opened up a stop more, but I knew I’d be cropping into the image quite a bit and peak sharpness is usually when you’ve closed down a stop or two from open. I braced the camera against a dumpster in the alley behind work. This was the sharpest of the shots. Maybe I’ll borrow my pal Aubrey’s 500 next time and make it bigger on film. Or heck, maybe I’ll just get a telescope and a T-Mount sometime.

Leave a Reply

